Read-a-thon

Read-a-thon, Part 3

Well I finished a book, Only a Kiss. Just one, and I decided to try The Martian again. I think I had picked The Martian up at the wrong time yesterday, there were a lot of distractions happening.

I ended up reading a total of 500 pages.

I didn’t make it the full 24 hours. I gave it the old college try. I went to bed at 3:45am. The time frame for me was 7am-7am. I was so tried I considered sleeping on our new couch.

I don’t think the 5 days notice was enough time for me. Especially since I was exhausted after work all last week. I definitely intend on participating in April when the Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-thon comes around next. Hopefully I’ll be able to enjoy it more.  For me prep is key. I wasn’t able to turn off my surrounding this time around and my reading concentration suffered.

Which hour was most daunting for you? Between hours 19-20, so it was 1am-2am here.

Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? Harry Potter would probably be a good choice. At least for me, the story sucks me in every time.

Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? I don’t for the Read-a-thon as a whole (for myself, I have loads of ideas), maybe after a few more participations I’ll have more ideas to share.

What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? The community was really great. The hourly updates made for a fun break.

How many books did you read? 1 novel and I finished a novella that I was working on beforehand.

What were the names of the books you read? All’s Fair in Love and Scandal and Only a Kiss

Which book did you enjoy most? Only a Kiss

Which did you enjoy least? The Martian, though I only made it 50 pages in before going to bed.

If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders? I was not a Cheerleader, maybe in April.

How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? I already plan to participate in next year, even my husband was talking about the prep for the next round. I’m not sure how active of a role I’ll want, maybe a mini-challegne or a giveaway or a cheerleader, maybe a co-host on the Goodreads page (or as active a role as possible 🙂 ).

Leave a Reply

