Rambling Thoughts

Rambling Thoughts on Go Set a Watchman

I’ve been trying to read Go Set a Watchman, but for the life of me I just can’t seem to get into it. I just don’t give a frick about Jean Louise. I know it’s the first draft of To Kill a Mockingbird, I can’t help but compare the two. That may be hurting how I see this book. If it were it’s own tale it may be easier to keep the two apart.

To Kill a Mockingbird isn’t my most favorite book. (I must be one of the few on this.) It’s good but it takes a long time, if ever, for me to get absorbed into the story. I just don’t have a clue what the point of Go Set a Watchman is. Which is probably why it’s the first draft (or that I’m only 44 pages in) and was never intended to be published (money grubbing lawyer).

I keep thinking I should stop trying to read Go Set a Watchman now, at page 44, to keep the Atticus in my head as To Kill a Mockingbird Atticus instead of a weird mix from both books.

Side Note: When I first heard the title of Harper Lee’s “newest book” I thought the title was Ghost Watchman.

Have you read Go Set a Watchman? Did the whole situation of finding the book swig you out too?

Leave a Reply

