Book Review

Holiday Temptations Review

Holiday Temptations by Donna Hill, Farrah Rochon, and K.M. Jackson

·Dafina — September 2016
·Contemporary Holiday Romance

Overall it’s a bit meh. I didn’t hate or dislike any of the individual novellas. I just didn’t love any of them. I can’t really pick a favorite from the three. Looking back (a whole 2 days later) I enjoyed Holiday Spice’s writing the most. And I’m able to recall A Gift of Love the best.

This is the first time I’ve read anything by any of the authors. I still intend to dive into their backlists despite my overall meh feeling. — My computer keeps wanting to correct backlists to blacklist. I just want to tell it no, this has absolutely nothing to do with James Spader.

Christmas wasn’t a huge part of any these stories. That disappointed me, I want elves throwing snow at me and shoving cookies down my throat while I read anything with a Christmas setting.

A Gift of Love by Donna Hill

Trigger Warning for if you’ve been in an abusive relationship.

I enjoyed this story. I was able to be distracted from it every so often. But I had an urge to get back to it. Which I always hold to be a good measure.

My first impression of this was damn, I want her books. And was super impressed that she had read all the books on her selves. — I have a large number of TBRs on my bookshelves, like 4 years worth. I used the calculator thing that made the rounds a couple of years ago. It’s a problem, that I can’t stop. #cantstopwontstop

Back to the actual story, it was good. She packed in a lot, in not a lot of space. She did it really well. I wanted to see more of their time together towards the end. See how she was doing once she was fully vulnerable to the hero. It was everything is perfect, with puppies and bunnies. — I love both, so that wasn’t a big deal. — Granted, I’ve read some that pack in the same amount of baggage but couldn’t rap it up as well in a full length.

The hero and heroine both have so much baggage. She mostly from her previous relationship with her ex-husband. He mostly from his childhood. I was more attuned with the heroine’s baggage. I understood and empathized with the hero. But there were a couple of points that my heart broke for the heroine.

Condoms were used every time they had sex on the page! The sex was good, but not to the point that I want to jump on my husband.

Christmas was just the time period. Anything really Christmasy didn’t really happen until the end, and even then it was minimal. So if you’re one of those who doesn’t dig Christmas, but likes reading seasonally this is for you.

No alphas. The hero is definitely a beta who will kick ass when someone threatens what he loves. (That’s pretty much the definition of hero isn’t it? Oh well, go with it.)

Holiday Spice by Farrah Rochon

I read this through in one sitting. Granted it’s a novella, but sometimes those take the longest to get through.

I already followed Farrah Rochon on twitter. So I went in with high hopes.

The heroine has such a devastatingly heartbreaking secret. So much time was spent tiptoeing around the secret that it feels like that we weren’t able to really get to know the heroine. The hero’s personal issues weren’t so devastatingly heartbreaking. His were more of a bullheaded idiotic issue, cause by stubborn men.

We were given enough hints about the heroine’s backstory so that it didn’t feel like we were blindsided when it was revealed what had happened in her past.

Condoms were used every time they had sex on the page! The sex was steamier than the first novella, but still not enough to want to jump on my husband. 

More beta heros! Sheesh, I need to get out of 19th Century England more often.

There’s a bit more Christmas in this one. Christmas movies, Christmas Eve & Day spent together on the page. And they were snowbound! I do love a snowbound trope. Safely confined.

From Here to Serenity by K.M. Jackson

This was meh. I was more interested in the food then the main characters.

I wanted more descriptions of the food. The author was successful in making me hungry.

I did not like the hero. He was to far in the assholery for me. Maybe in a full length novel, but in a novella it didn’t work out. We missed his redemption thought process.

The heroine was ok. I liked her in some moments and found her annoying in others.

The sex was a fade to black I think, it’s been a day and I don’t even remember. I can’t be bothered to go back in to look.

“And that’s all I have to say about that.” – Forrest Gump

**I received a free, advance copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for my unbiased review.

Leave a Reply

